“I don’t want to be a janitor”

Posted: October 13, 2017 in Uncategorized

by James C. Stephens


 

Friday, January 16, 1976

Tonight we had a very meaningful and significant meeting with our Honbucho Mr. Hall. During the course of the evening a member asked him a question.

“I’m living in my care and was kicked out of my house. I’ve been living in my car 10 days. I was told that this Gohonzon worked. #1 That’s what I’m in for- benefits. I’ve been told by my leaders I’ve been receiving benefits. Now I’m not convinced, sometimes yes, sometimes no. I’m desperate. I’ll do anything to change this situation. What should I do?

Mr. Hall related the fact that he should not be looking at the Gohonzon like, “where’s my job-from the sky attitude. But first ask yourself. Why am I living in my car? No house. No rent paid. Why no rent paid. No job. Why no job-there’s jobs around. Looking for the perfect job? Take anything. Just like working for NSA.

Janitor silhouetteMember: I don’t want to be a janitor for NSA, maybe, but not a janitor.

Mr. Hall: Rejicho (Mr. Williams) was a janitor. You want effect, no cause.

It doesn’t matter what kind of job you have, but rather your attitude. Use this job as a steppingstone to something better. To get ahead in this society everyone must start and try hard. Difference in NSA with Gohonzon you have fortune and most important vital life force and wisdom. So many people in society with hardworking determination, but just rise to the top and then down. But with Gohonzon all those causes will definitely result in good, great effect.

Leave a Reply

