Green Coconuts and Two Six Packs

Posted: February 6, 2017 in Uncategorized

by James C. Stephens


Sunday, May 18, 1975

old-dole-pineapple-and-surfer-posterToday I experienced swimming in the Hawaiian Pacific Ocean. What a beautiful warm experience. The water is remarkably clear and has so many shades of blue. We picked some coconuts. The greens are no good, but we didn’t know that. Boy did I get sunburned, the Hawaiian Sun is really intense. After Gongyo tonight Scott and I walked down the parade route and bought a couple of six packs, came home, drank a beer and crashed.

Monday, May 19, 1975

Roof day for me today. Luckily there was a good breeze blowing. But my sunburn got worse, even without taking my shirt off. Well enough of the Hawaii stuff. My Human Revolution today was again following and also digging it so much. In one way it is so much or so gratifying to encourage members from anywhere. It makes working and living together so much easier. Though a lot about my future today. I really hope the Gohonzon gives me the training I need to run an outstanding district and also to excel in my field.

Tuesday, May 20, 1975

Worked hard on Hawaiian TCD hut all day.

Wednesday, May 21, 1975

Today we hear that Rejicho went to the Art Warehouse in L.A. and was so impressed by the work that he is going to have put up a big neon sign saying NSA Productions and an IBL Flag. (International Buddhist League). How groovy!

We now have project chiefs which are like hanchos and project foreman which are like chikubuchos.

Tonight I talked to Mike Hayes for a long time. I don’t know if it was my place or time to do it but I talked to him about an incident with the broom and dirt today. I pray that it encourages him. Goodnight. >1 hr. dmk.

Thursday, May 22, 1975

Greg put me first on the Tobon list for the NSA Warehouse. Great benefit. Dan Pardo was my assistant. We stayed up all night together protecting the warehouse. We talked about many things, many things. He told me the next day that he was so glad that we had talked because it had encouraged him since he had been on a big bummer jut before we talked. He told me also that Russ Dilando the guy who shakubukued me was bummed out because many of his old members were onshitsuing him. He, RD, said that my call to him was in perfect timing and it made him feel better. Anything I could ever do for Russ makes me feel good. I really respect and love him deeply as a friend and leader.



Gongyo: Chapter and a half of the Lotus Sutra chanted five times each morning and thre times in the evening.

Gohonzon: Object of worship inscribed by Nichiren Daishonin.

TCD: Traffic Control Division.

Rejicho: General Director of Nichiren Shoshu Academy, aka Soka Gakkai,  Mr. George M. Williams.

IBL: International Buddhist League.

Hanchos: Small Group Leader

Chikubucho: District Leader

Tobon: Guard Duty carried out by Young Men’s Division (YMD).

Shakubuku: Sharing the Buddhist faith with another, literally means “Tearing and crushing.”

On’shitsu: Thinking or uttering slanderous thoughts about another believer.

Leave a Reply

