Pearl Harbor Day and a Million Daimoku

Posted: December 6, 2016 in Uncategorized

by James C. Stephens


December 5, 1974

It’s a rainy day in L.A. Quite a beautiful morning. My fever broke and my sore throat has gotten better. I’m starting to get back on my feet. I have a long way to go for my million daimoku. Scott Ferguson is moving in my house in my old room around January 1. It should be good for his practice. We get along really well.

I have Toban at L.A. #1 Headquarters on December 7. Pearl Harbor Day–Big Deal–Why? Honbu Kombu Kai (Monthly General Meeting at the Santa Monica Convention Center). Shoot! But really its a great challenge and benefit to have such a serious responsibility. Well I must sign off for now. Bye.

December 7, 1974

Right now I’m at the Toban desk at the 1st Headquarters. Tonight I have the fortune of protecting the 1st Headquarters Joju Gohonzon while the Monthly General Meeting is happening with General Director Williams.

I just finished chanting an hour along with evening Gongyo in front of the Joju Gohonzon. A benefit for sure.

Tonight I made some new determinations and reconfirmed some old ones.

By April 1, 1975 I want my own district in the Valley. I definitely want a job which I can stick with for awhile meaning about 2 years. I’m going to investigate a karate class. I’m starting a physical training program for myself and want to start language training.

The other night I growled at the Gohonzon about not getting enough benefits. It’s my own fault because I haven’t been practicing hard enough. So back, no forward with Shakubuku Spirit and a new spirit to develop the Valley.No one else is fighting hard there, so why not create the wave myself. It starts with oneself they say. So let me get moving.

Oh I am still yes, in love with that stubborn girl, but this time its on a different base–nothing mushy, in fact we had a great day today together. She’s important to me because I am in love with her. However, I must change my Ichinen in my practice. It is changing so I’m not worried. The past is past! Right? Right!!!

Leave a Reply

