Transitions and Work for LA Mayor’s Office

Posted: April 21, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

by James C. Stephens


June 20, 1974

Saturday was a turning point in my practice as a NSA member. Soshibucho gave me strict guidance just to go to meetings, show up at 7:00 and leave afterwards for one month. Don’t talk to members at all. After, Shibucho, my old one, Russ Dilando, told me this he called back and asked if I wouldn’t mind going to a meeting of Del Rey Chapter No. Valley Group.

July 29, 1974

20141117_085329_LLSI have found it extremely difficult to keep my diary in recent months. Early this month, I was transferred from one chapter to another. This has caused me great joy as far as the new challenge to my practice. It is also very difficult because my friends in practice in Northridge are now more distant. It’s difficult because I have had to start all over again in a totally different position of responsibility. But now I realize President Ikeda’s concept of the impermanence of life. Things change so rapidly.

My Shibucho, Dave Anderson really expects a lot from me. All the time I am challenging my life in new directions. I often wonder if I can meet his high expectations. I can only ask the Gohonzon, seriously for help in my Human Revolution.

This month I have received great benefits from the Gohonzon. I got a job in the Mayor’s Office in Los Angeles over many applicants and in spite of various deadlines which I had not met. In the first week I received a $74 raise in position which was totally unexpected.

But the major benefit is on the han level. I’m finding a totally different practice with woman’s division. Slowly things are happening. I have one YMD shakubuku who is standing up in the early stages, Mike Burnett. I have great hopes for him. Also I have one YMD who has been practicing a little over a year, Bob Ladd, he is coming around slowly, but he’s advancing. I gave him on of my YMD Shakubuku, Bill Reese to take care of. Things seem to be changing, but we’ll see.

As for myself, I’m a bit frustrated because I feel I’m not really fighting as hard as I could. Most of my energies seem to be spent on just trying to get the district han together.

In a sense I’m going through much turmoil inside my life, many changes, and learning I know so little and must learn so much.

Well, I must get ready for leaders meeting at 10:00, so long.

Leave a Reply

