by James C. Stephens


May 29, 1974

Changes

My life is like the weather. Some mornings it is foggy, but later it becomes sunny, the fog being burnt off by the midday sun. Other times I feel like a smoggy day. Sometimes smoggy days are days that bring wisps of memories back to me while at other times they are trying days to my patience, frustration. But with the rise of a new sun the next day and a Santana breeze I am filled with new vitality and hope for the future.

 

 

Challenge

The challenge of this frontier is not in conquering others but in conquering ourselves. An old man being beaten in the street, from Clockwork Orange or New York, no sir it happens in the peaceful San Fernando Valley, Sepulveda. Brutish people living as animals where are the people who cry out for humanism, brotherhood and equality? They hide from the grave responsibility which besets us as inhabitants of planet earth. The only humans fighting the greatest enemy to man are NSA members who strive to perfect their daily life. I along with my fellow NSA members brave the streets in search of Bodhisattvas who will in the near future fight alongside us for World Peace. At times it becomes a depressing ordeal, pounding the streets for hours and only words of scorn from cold hearted people. Then you ask “Is World Peace possible?” and you might reply inside with hopelessness only the next person you Shakubuku responds with a gleam in his eye of hope. A girl who joined two days ago looks to us for hope. We can’t let her down, the Gohonzon is these people’s only hope, as it is ours.

Fight on you courageous Bodhisattvas! Work is our battleground and still reeking with sweat the discussion meeting is our oasis. The streets are filled with challenges. Only because of the Gohonzon’s power can I keep up with the pace of NSA. NSA has a strong rhythm which I must build into my life. It is one constructing a harmonious positive daily life. Soon it will be my fourth anniversary with the Gohonzon. From this moment on I hope to fight with a more passionate spirit everyday. This year is my year of construction of a firmer foundation of faith with the Gohonzon as my basis. I must become like the Rock of Gibralter. My experiences are definitely going to improve and when I emcee a meeting I want people to know the Gohonzon works because of the Ichinen I show through the power of the Gohonzon.

My main task and desire is to find someone I can form a close bound with who knows a lot about the spirit of President Ikeda and Mr. Williams.

My dream is to be able to get up at 5 each morning and chant 2 hours of daimoku for one year and to become a more eloquent and intelligent person that people can look at as an example of the Gohonzon.

Leave a Reply

