“The world is waiting for you. You are the messiahs”

Posted: November 20, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

by James C. Stephens


July 3, 1973

For me it is hard to express what is deep in my heart. Deep inside I really feel deep love for all my friends. My problem is how to keep a wide perspective and see that my change of character is not just for me. We, the youth of NSA, of the world carry a great responsibility and that is to show how the practice of Nichiren Daishonin’s life philosophy can bring an unbelievably deep happiness. I really cried in front of Gohonzon tonight because I really saw the suffering of the people and felt how much I have to learn. We are so lucky. I really feel that. So many people live without ever hearing about the Gohonzon and will never be able to really lead a happy life. I just finished reading Jonathan Livingston Seagull the other day and I really feel that out there in this world there are so many people who are waiting for me to change so I can tell them about nam-myoho-renge-kyo.

Mr. Williams once told us and he cried, “The world is waiting for you. You are the messiahs.”

I realize that to practice in Los Angeles is really difficult. Many places in the world members are persecuted from the outside, militarily. For us we may seem to have it easy, no forces bearing down on us, no, but actually because we seem to have it easy, but in reality you have to fight twice as hard inside against the biggest devil–yourself.


 

Highlighting emphasis on “really feel, really saw, really lead. really difficult” is mine. Being transparent is really embarrassing. Notice how I loved to emphasize really. I wonder why? Did I just lack the confidence in stating what I felt? Could I have simply stated, “Deep inside I feel deep love for all my friends.” ? Struggling with reality, with genuine feelings was difficult for me in light of my parent’s divorce. Here I am almost 65 and processing for a 22 year young man.

Leave a Reply

