99 Days Left to the Sho Hondo Convention

Posted: November 20, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

by James C. Stephens


July 6, 1973

Only 99 days left to the convention it said at the Headquarters. Each day I hope to make a stronger determination and really build it in my life. Lately, I have been on a communication campaign with my assistant chapter chief Russ Dilando. One of my big problems has been communication. I report on things like a bureaucrat rather than as a human being. When I feel lousy I try to paint a rosy picture to my district chief, like, “I feel lousy, but I determine to change it!” Instead of telling him, straight like a common person, and getting to the root of the problem. That’s a big problem in our society. We may admit we have faults, but often it is just useless talk, when we don’t really try to get down and change those problems through action.

Mike Lisagor my chikabucho (district chief) said that many of my Sr. leaders said that when I find somebody to communicate with (a Sr. Leader) then my practice will really change.

I need to really be able to take guidance no matter how harsh it is and translate it into action. That is one of my major obstacles in handling or being able to handle more responsibility.

Another problem I am trying to tackle more consistantly is the problem of on-shitsu. I am chanting to the Gohonzon to be able to really learn from other people and rather than compete with others to learn that the battle is really against myself.

Right now I only have $100.00 down on Tozon and not to say the least I am worried about it. However, the job I got as an administrative coordinator is not bad. I really chanted for a well paying job and for a job that I could put myself to a definite challenge. Well, I got it. I type invoices, I file, I answer phones, talk to clients, work with bank accounts and truthfully am under some pressure. I am really happy for the challenge. It pays $2.75 an hour which is 50 cents an hour more than I ever made before. We are a service company which ships commercials for radio and T.V. and has other clients which we handle their business of film distribution throughout the U.S. It is definitely a good experience.

My obstacle are showing for Sho-hondo Convention for sure. For the last week I have had a touch of the flu, and not too good of a diet to fight it. I have been trying to get things turned on at my new apartment for the last week and so things and money have been tight. I got the electricity turned on last week and the phone this week.

Red VWMy car–wow. It’s a sore subject. I rarely am not seen running alongside it and then hopping in and popping the clutch to start it.

Well, it’s time to get back to work. I just shakubukued the waitress Maria–she’s from Columbia. Bye.


I was working two jobs. Before I got the job at Benson-Jones I got a graveyard shift job busing tables and doing dishes at Alphy’s Coffee Shop. I was determined to save up money for the Sho-Hondo Convention in Japan. I would go to evening meetings from 7-8:30PM, volunteer at the warehouse until 10:00PM, drive home, take a short nap, go to work busing tables and doing dishes at a 24 hour coffee shop, go home, take a short nap, shower, do my morning Gongyo (prayers), drive to Toluca Lake to work at my Administrative job, take a nap during lunch, work. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

