Reflections by Candlelight

Posted: November 16, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

by James C. Stephens


June 24, 1972

 

This evening of youth

a time to think

a time to plan.

Sitting by candlelight reflecting on my

past week’s struggle.

Oh evening, there is something

about you that means something deep to me.

Candlelight and a battery powered

radio, they sound so incompatiable, but

in Mappo.

in my life,

Myoho, each moment of the evening brings

some memory to me,

some dream of tommorrow,

some happiness or struggle

of this moment.

 

The past weeks after the convention have been so beautiful. they have brought the greatest realizations I have had yet in my practice. For days I struggled to get a job. Waking up late, but getting out and beating the bush for a job. Many days I felt like hell physically and mentally and the smog in the valley did not help, but I kept looking. Finally I got a job at 1.95 an hour working in a factory machine shop from 12 midnight to 7:30 in the morning. That lasted for one night. I just could not handle the night rhythm. Then I lookied for another job at the Employment office and ran into Jay Bingham or he ran into me. He is a member who went titan before the convention. He really is lonely.

Well I got a job, and worked all week for $18 a day clear.

I really need the money, so I’m happy I got the job. We clean apartments and lay and clean carpets, so the day is constantly busy and passes quite quickly until about 5:30. I have been getting up at 6:00 every day. Very difficult, but very rewarding.

Leave a Reply

