Let Me In! He raged.

Posted: November 11, 2015 in Uncategorized

by James C. Stephens


Tuesday- April 4th, 1972

“Last week and half have been quite exciting. One day after I promoted six tickets to the Battle of Okinawa, and I got home; I was talking on the phone to Rich and a guy about 40 was trying to break in my front door, and then he saw me, and said oh, I ah, is this house for Rent? I heard it was vacant and I wanted to stay here. (There are curtains-the house looks quite occupied).

I said, “No this isn’t for rent.”

He demanded, “Well let me in!”

I said, “I don’t have a key to the front door and besides I’m on the phone.”

Skeleton keysHe left the front door and then, I looked out and it seemed he was going to the back. I looked towards my back door and it was opened so I ran like hell and locked it (with a skeleton key).  The second it got locked he came on my back porch.

“Let me in!” he demanded, “Let me stay here!”

I said, “No! There are already four people staying here.”

“Let me stay here!”

It was like a bad paranoia dream coming true. I was really freaking out.

“Well, let me stay in your barn.”

“No, there’s rodents and rats, it’s not fit for anyone.”

“I have a sheepdog,” he said.

“No, I said, stay at the lifehouse at Valley State.”

“But, I have a dog.” he said.

“It’s okay.”

Then he raged at me to stay here.

He had a strong ichinen to get in.

I was so nervous, I didn’t know how to get rid of him.

So my last resort was Shakubuku, it was the climax, I said with much Ichinen, “We’re all Buddhists here and we all chant Nam-myoho-renge-kyo.”

He left…

It was such a strange experience I’ll never forget. Shakubuku is a really powerful cause.

Leave a Reply

