by James C. Stephens


Sunday, June 13, 1971

 

This morning we had a really vigorous and sincere YMD meeting with the first concrete emphasis on Seattle Yusohan[1] movement. Steve Gore (butaicho) will be in charge of the movement of people safely, while Rod Burke will be in change of moving baggage. Fukahonbucho Harvey Hall emphasized L.A.#1’s importance in Seattle. He emphasized the future presence of the head of the Yusohan movement in Japan would be here, Mr. Fukashima, I believe.

After YMD we had a sincere BB practice with emphasis on the movement we would be doing before the judges stand for Sogohonbucho. We also heard that Sogohonbucho had selected “Stars and Stripes Forever” for the parade.

After practice I crashed for a couple of hours and my Dad waked me up after he got off work. Immediately I sat down at the dining room table and I wrote a fine essay on the beginnings of the Cold War. It came very easily. Just as I was about to finish Nancy came by and I read it to her. I was trying to figure out a conclusion, but it seemed with my last quotation I had concluded it without realizing it. So we talked about the essay and I went over to her place to make some phone calls to different people. Afterwards I did Gongyo with Jason and Nancy and got a ride home and chanted my remaining two hours, practiced my instrument and studied Buddhism and fell asleep.

 


 

Yusohan were composed primarily of Young Men’s Division members who were committed to protecting the Dai-Gohonzon, the President of the Soka Gakkai, and the members of the Soka Gakkai.  We acted as crossing guards for members, traffic control, ushers,  informational guides, drove leaders to and from the airport, and did whatever we were asked to do from cleaning toilets, carrying luggage to protecting the General Director and on occasion President Ikeda.  We were also called TCD, Traffic Control Division.

BB or Brass Band.


Leave a Reply

