by James C. Stephens


Tuesday, April 27, 1971

 

I still am having a devil of a time getting up in the morning.

I decided that every day I must read the Times and some magazine at school because I am really getting behind in current affairs.

Tonight I finally did some reading and remarkably I enjoyed it very much. I read Conrad’s Youth and also Poe’s Fall of the House of Usher. I regret that I had not read more in my past. I must read more in the future.


Note: When I was at Hellgate High School in Missoula, I was a debater and spent hours in the University of Montana Library doing research on debate topics. I was also part of Model United Nations and representing Russia and did research on various global topics back in the sixties. When we moved back to California, I was still active in debate and student politics. I recall even attending a Democratic function hosting Robert F. Kennedy at the Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles when I was a senior at James Monroe High School. After I arrived home, I heard that he was assassinated. After becoming involved in Buddhist activities, working part time at a Ski shop, wrestling through a tumultuous family situation, and focusing on studies my spare time was nil, but I still wanted more.

Leave a Reply

