by James C. Stephens


Saturday, April 16, 1971

Today I got up at about 8:00 and cleaned my room. Sal came over and we chanted an hour of good daimoku and did Gongyo. Afterwards we drove down to Fullerton and got a girl’s World Tribune. It was really a good experience Shakubukuing an older lady and a young girl.  They were Sal’s old acquaintances and it was a good Shakubuku. They fed us lunch and we had a good personable talk, no real hang-ups. It feels real good.

 

Then we went to the Honbu and fortunately the Fuji shobo was open and I got my Seattle T-shirt for Band Tommorrow….I had an unbelievably full schedule for me, but the Gohonzon helped me achieve my goal; for your daily schedule has got to be a goal. I got one World Tribune today which brings my total to four. It broke my record of last month, so I’m happy for that. And it just seemed my schedule answered itself. I was going to pick up my new butsudon, but Russ left it here, I was supposed to call up Jay Stone, but Jay called me; I zipped in cleaning the house and it was just a good day.

 

Evening we had a good Zadankai meeting. We had an elderly man and many younger guests. I helped the older man and it made me feel good inside. But not just good, but it put me through human revolution.

 

One other thing I must note; My Dad, while buying some hay, ran across a man he hadn’t seen in ten years. The benefit is this man offered my Dad or asked him to interview for a job managing a Rental (U-Rent type of set-up) Shop for $15,000-20,000 + commission a year. It sounds good, but I don’t get my hopes too high. I just have got to get him to chant so it goes through; I will chant, too of course.

 

Oh, I practiced my instrument again day by day. Now I must extend that to my studies.

 

Tomorrow-Myohoji—can’t wait.


World Tribune campaigns. On a monthly basis we would go out and promote the organization’s newspaper to members, friends, relatives and meet briefly each night to see who got the most subscriptions.

Zadankai meetings: Discussion meetings were held in individual’s homes and occassionally at the Headquarters, wherein one would bring guests to a meeting designed to introduce them to Buddhism.

Honbu-Each headquarters had a meeting place. Santa Monica Headquarters originally was housed in an old Elk’s Lodge that we remodeled as members. One would enter through a front door into the reception area where the Men’s Division or Young Men’s Division would be on Toban (guard). Downstairs was a sitting area with vending machines, near the Fuji shobo where one could purchase religious articles such as beads, incense, books, and convention t-shirts; the Headquarter’s chief’s office, and restrooms.

One would go upstairs, take off one’s shoes, and then enter the main meeting area which housed the especially inscribed Joju Gohonzon (Object of worship) made for each headquarters, housed in a large Butsudon on a platform in the front of the room. One would chant sancho daimoku three times out of respect. Usually on the right hand side of the wall hung a photo of President Ikeda, the third President of the Soka Gakkai. On the platform were offerings of fruit and during New Year’s mushimoshi, rice cakes.  On another altar table were place two candlesticks, an incense burner and on the floor to the right a bell which would be rung to help others in a call to prayer.  Women would sit on the right, men on the left.

In an adjacent room was a room especially dedicated to President Ikeda whenever he would visit. Next to that was a kitchen.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

