by James C. Stephens


Tuesday, April 13, 1971

Tonight, I thought I would start my record of Kosenrufu and my individual human revolution.

Today and everyday I will be truthful to reveal what I go through by practicing Nichiren Daishonin’s[1] life philosophy.

I’ve felt very mixed up the last few days. I think it is because I was on vacation for 5 days and got out of rhythm. [2] But my mind doesn’t take that for an answer, it’s just mixed up. I didn’t do anything really worthwhile today. Sometimes I just get all tied up inside. One thing that really bothers me and that’s: I’m almost 20 years old and I still don’t know where I am going. I have been very insolent lately. I’m not getting along with my parents at all. Last night I just got mad at my brother at the dinner table and threw milk in his face. My problem is that I don’t always care, while at other times I do care. Maybe, or really I need to be in Itai Doshin.

I feel I have lost my individuality, but it’s not the philosophy, it’s me. I want to change, but I want to enjoy my human revolution.


[1] Nichiren Daishonin (122-1282): “The founder of what is now known as Nichiren Shoshu, which regards him as the original Buddha who appears in the Latter Day of the Law to open the way to Buddhahood for all people.” At the age of twelve Zennichi-maro (his childhood name), entered into a Tendai temple where he prayed before a statue and asked “to become the wisest man in Japan.” Pg. 296.

[2] Rhythm: The idea that by practicing Nichiren Daishonin’s Buddhism you would be in harmony or rhythm with the universal law. You’d be at the right place at the right time.

Itai Doshin-Many in body, one in mind.

Leave a Reply

