by James C. Stephens


Wednesday, April 14, 1971

Another day, another journey.

Today I have been totally spaced out. It has been a beautiful rainy day. Really fresh, it’s a good day to think. Lately I have wanted to be alone, but I still have enjoyed being around people. I blew it with my Dad again this morning. I’ve got to chant to overcome my bad nature.

I talked to Dr. Shofner for a while today, attended both of his classes successively. He seemed very interested in True Buddhism. I think he’s going to subscribe to World Tribune Friday…I heard today that a Roman Catholic official got excommunicated after being married seven years. What a primitive religion.

…I hope that I can speak or write the way I am and not speak false feelings.

‘Some speak True teachings, but cherish transient teachings in their heart.’[1]

I want this pen to be an extension of my life, maybe one day I will uncover my happiest life condition……

Tonight we had a guidance meeting at the Joint Headquarters with Mr. Kikamura. It’s really strange because I was really hoping to get guidance on my problems, and sure enough it happened. The meeting really struck home. I just must chant better diamoku.[2]


[1] I was quoting a passage from Nichiren’s Gosho.  A gosho is a compilation of his writings that range from letters to his disciples to remonstrations against the Japanese Government of his day.

[2] Daimoku: “The title of a sutra, particularly the title of the Lotus Sutra, Myoho-renge-kyo. (2) In Nichiren Daishonin’s Buddhism, the invocation of Nam (devotion to) Myoho (the mystic Law of life and death) Renge (simultaneous nature of cause and effect) kyo (sound or vibration), one the Three Great Secret Laws.” Pg. 54

Leave a Reply

