Thursday, May 25, 1972 “Rock Bottom”

Posted: January 31, 2008 in Uncategorized

Thursday, May 25, 1972

Nothing is worse that coming home to a house with no electricity, no phone, no food. Many things are really at rock bottom. It’s strange. My dad is doing poorly in his business, his apartment’s power and gas and phone is off. So are mine, no jobs, no substantial relationships with people besides members, no money. My mom and dad are very far apart, my schooling is far beyond passing, no members. It is time to fight!

……….

June 1, 1972

Tonight as I sit in candlelight I do it not because I like to write by candlelight but rather I have no electricity.

I want to put down on paper what I have in my heart tonight so I will begin by giving my determination for August Tozon. Everyday I will chant 14,300 diamoku so I can chant 1 million diamoku by August tozon. 1 million diamoku from June 2 to August 10. I must really change my family situation. My father is still having poor fortune. He makes some money but does not know how to spend it. I myself want to really help him catch up his bills and bookwork.

But to do so I must get a full time job. For other prime reasons I withdrew from school and am now looking for a full time job. I don’t know if that was a mistake, but I am confident with the Gohonzon it will turn out to be a great benefit. The reason I am resolved to chant so many diamoku is so I can really understand my mission and meet President Ikeda in August. I also want to really develop mercy for other human beings and become a confident leader for Kosenrufu.

As a member of Nichiren Shoshu Academy I also resolve to study Buddhism at a deeper level for 20 minutes a day.
……………

Comments
  1. Wayne Roten says:

    As I read your article and the time period, it brought back a lot of unpleasant memories. I started practicing on August 24, 1966 at Chuck Parker’s house in Santa Monica. Like most people there, I had just graduated from high school. I was lost, scared and worried about my future. The only thing I was really good at was surfing and that too was also changing into the shortboard revolution. One of my surfer friends introduced me to NSA and I have been practicing for 44 years now. I eventually got a job as a P.I., then started my own agency in 1976. I did that for 37 years and now do the thing that brings me the most happiness, which is
    painting surfing scenes. I recently made the cover of Longboard’s 101st issue. I certainly hope you have changed your circumstances. I still practice every day and have not missed a day in over 44 years. I miss the early days, all the band practice (I was in the Tribune Band) and the great conventions we had.

Leave a Reply

